Management Behavior – Threatening to Lay off

I’m a Development Manager, working in US for a big MNC (core management is from Japan) for more than a ‘decade‘ with an experience of executing close to million dollar projects (all together) and was coming out of a Project due to billing concerns from the Delivery team and informed my manager (Indian) about the same.

Couple days later, my manager approached me mentioning that ‘you need to take up a developer role’. My question to him was ‘Why developer role ?’, he mentioned me that it is better instead ‘laying you off‘. I told him to proceed if he is wishing to do like that so I can take it to next level management about the threatening behavior from middle level management.

He also mentioned that he will put ‘Under performer‘ tagged while laying me off so he (organization) doesn’t need to pay off the severance package, simply escaping the benefits.

I responded him to proceed in whatever he wishes to do, I know I can put a fix to all if that becomes a reality.

Think of the cruel behavior/mentality of management in an Organization.

If the above becomes a reality, will definitely reach the senior leadership team out to detail the situation and doesn’t need to worry about the result but have them understand what kind of things happening in the Organization. This would definitely expose the similarities happened to others.

All this happened around two weeks ago and over a telephonic conversation.

After the incident, I’m in no mood to perform as expected by the management as the whole of my department management knows how was my work over the decade. Let’s see how it will turn to be in the coming days.

Leave a Reply

